Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

The PDF-XChange Viewer for End Users
+++ FREE +++

Moderators: Tracker Support, TrackerSupp-Daniel, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Chris - Tracker Supp, Ivan - Tracker Software, Tracker Supp-Stefan

Post Reply
LucDesjardins
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:10 pm

Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by LucDesjardins »

Hi,

I'm using the following commands below in a Java application to start PDF-XChange Viewer Pro with a predetermined .pdf filepath:
cmd = "C:\\Program Files\\Tracker Software\\PDF Viewer\\PDFXCview.exe "+ filepath;
Runtime run = Runtime.getRuntime();
Process proc = run.exec (cmd);

Is there a Command Line Option to have a new document start a scan (Equivalent to Menu:File...New Document...From Scanner...) and with a predetermined .pdf filepath?

If not, are there any other ways to perform this? for example using javascript

Thanks,
LD
User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6815
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by Will - Tracker Supp »

Hi LucDesjardins,

Thanks for your post! There is no command line option to do this, but I'm not sure about the Javascript, I'll have to ask one of our Developers and get back to you on that!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com
User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6815
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by Will - Tracker Supp »

Hi again LucDesjardins,

I've just spoken and with our project eveloper, and he's told me that, unfortunately, there isn't a way that you can do this.

Sorry that I couldn't bring you good news, but I do hope that it answers you question, at the very least!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com
LucDesjardins
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:10 pm

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by LucDesjardins »

Would this command line option (Equivalent to Menu:File...New Document...From Scanner...) be considered in the next release of the PDF-XChange Viewer Pro?

Thanks,
Luc
User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6815
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by Will - Tracker Supp »

Hi Luc,

Unfortunately, it's not something that would be practicle for us to implement at this time.

I'm sorry that this probably isn't what you wanted to hear, but unfortunately we have to balance the "needs of the few, against the needs of the many." If it were something that was simple to implement, then I may have had a different answer for you, but unfortunately, so I've been told by the Developers, it's a fairly complex feature and we've had no further requests for such a feature, and therefore must regretfully decline at this point in time.

Once again, my sincerest apologies - this may change in the future, but for now, I'm afraid it can't be done.

If there is anything further that we can help you with though, or if you have any further requests, don't hesitate to let us know - we'd love to help!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com
es42
User
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 23, 2023 7:03 pm

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by es42 »

Any news, is it maybe available now?
User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 8988
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel »

Hello, es42

I am afraid that the viewer has been discontinued for roughly a decade now, and at this moment we are not looking to expand our command line capacity further, so I am afraid initiating scanning is not an option, and for the forseeable future likely will not be added to the Editor.
If you are interested in reviewing all currently available command line options that the Editor supports, please see here: https://help.pdf-xchange.com/pdfxe ... ns_ed.html

Kind regards,
Dan McIntyre - Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Our Web site domain and email address has changed as of 26/10/2023.
https://www.pdf-xchange.com
Support@pdf-xchange.com
Willy Van Nuffel
User
Posts: 2401
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:10 pm

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by Willy Van Nuffel »

Would it help to add the "New Document > From Scanner"-options to the Home-ribbon ?
In that way they would be immediately available after starting PDF-XChange Editor.

I wonder what would be the goal or the advantage to have a command-line option for this ?

Kind regards.
>
PDF-XChange Editor - New Document From Scanner.png
User avatar
Paul - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6992
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Chemainus, Canada
Contact:

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by Paul - Tracker Supp »

Hi, Willy Van Nuffel

I suspect the request for the command line is due to not wanting to start the GUI. As Daniel said, we are not looking to expand our command line capacity further, so while that would make access easier I am not sure it is what was asked for.

Kind regards,
Paul - Tracker Supp
Best regards

Paul O'Rorke
Tracker Support North America
http://www.tracker-software.com
Willy Van Nuffel
User
Posts: 2401
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:10 pm

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by Willy Van Nuffel »

Thanks for the clarification Paul.

Kind regards.

Willy
User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 8988
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel »

:)
Dan McIntyre - Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Our Web site domain and email address has changed as of 26/10/2023.
https://www.pdf-xchange.com
Support@pdf-xchange.com
User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 8988
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Command Line Option Using PDF-XChange Viewer Pro

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel »

Hello, All!

After a bit more thought on this, I did realize that, if you are using PDF-Tools, it would be possible to create a custom tool with all your scanning output options preset as desired, and then you could use PDF-Tools itself via the command line to run that custom tool. It is not something which would be possible with the Editor, and likely will not come to that, but as a batch processing function, it could be done with the appropriate product and license.

Kind regards,
Dan McIntyre - Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Our Web site domain and email address has changed as of 26/10/2023.
https://www.pdf-xchange.com
Support@pdf-xchange.com
Post Reply